Inform Glossary of Terms
A25+ - Adults 25 years and older; most common industry demographic; most are primary parents.
Above The Fold (ATF) - The in-view portion of a web page prior to a user scrolling; 50% or more of the player must be visible to be considered ATF.
Activity Audit - Independent verification of measured activity for a specified time period. Some of the key metrics validated are ad impressions, page impressions, clicks, total visits, and unique users. An activity audit results in a report verifying the metrics. Formerly known as a count audit. See comScore.
Advertisement (Ad) - A commercial message targeted to an advertisers customer or prospect; digital ads are usually played within units or container elements on a web page; duration, format, source, type, and other factors differ by agency and end-user.
Advertiser - The party paying for the advertisement to be shown.
Ad Banner - A graphic image or other media object used as an advertisement; usually placed at the top or side rail of a web page.
Ad Blocker - any browser, extension, or software product used to block the serving or load of ads--display, print, and video--in a browser window; most commonly found to block ad of size below a minimum standard.
Ad Opportunity - The opportunity to play an ad via an Inform Player Suite product.
Adobe Flash Player - A freeware software from Adobe used to play Flash moving images; Flash files are of format .swf (compressed) or .flv.
Akamai Media Player (AMP) - The core video player library that the Inform Player Suite uses to playback video; this library is developed by Akamai Content Delivery Network and Web Performance Services; Akamai is a leader in content delivery technologies.
Auto-Play - When the start behavior of a player is automatic; in other words, playback begins on page load/player load, without user interaction.
Asynchronous Load (‘async’ script attribute) - A script that will be run asynchronously, or casually, within the DOM load sequence; the antithesis of, or alternative to, in-line load.
Below The Fold (BTF) - The portion of a webpage that is out of view when the page loads. 51% or more of the product’s pixels are off-screen on Load.
Behavioral Targeting - A technique used by online publishers and advertisers to increase the effectiveness of their campaigns; behavioral targeting uses information collected on an individual’s web browsing behavior such as the pages they have visited or the searches they have made to select which advertisements to be displayed to that individual.
Browser ID - A string describing a web browser being used to see our Inform Player Suite’s embedded products; recognized values include Chrome (Google), Safari (Apple), Firefox (Mozilla), and Edge (Microsoft).
‘Bumper’ Video - A pre-roll video that plays for a total of 6 seconds, which is used during Slider (RMM) and other Inform pre-roll product experience; the aim of 'bumper' videos is to not only preview featured content, but to also encourage user interaction.
Buffering - When a streaming media player temporarily stores portions of a streaming media file on a client PC until there is enough information for the stream; the buffering state often indicated through wait graphics (spinning wheel).
Button - A clickable graphic that contains certain functionality; buttons may also be ads on some websites (not Inform).
Chrome - a Google proprietary web browser.
Content Import (CI) - the process of how a video makes its way from our network of content creators to the Inform video database, or DME.
Click-to-Play (CTP) - When the start behavior of a player is set to the ‘click’ of the mouse interaction; also known as user-initiated start functionality; Click-To-Play is the appropriate behavior for higher bounce rate pages, like home pages and site section pages, where user input should be checked for before playback--to ensure viewability.
Click-Through-Rate (CTR) - The ratio of ad clicks to ad impressions; ad industry standard acronym; Click-Through is the action of following a link within an advertisement or editorial content to another web site or another page or frame within the website; measures user engagement.
Click - the event or process of a user initiated 'click' or action regarding a digital ad or on-page unit.
- A metric which measures the reaction of a user to an Internet ad; there are three types of clicks: click-throughs, in-unit-clicks, and mouseovers.
- The opportunity for a user to download another file by clicking on an advertisement, as recorded by the server.
- The result of a measurable interaction with an advertisement or keyword that links to the advertiser’s intended website or another page or frame within the website.
- A metric that measures the reaction of a user to linked editorial content.
CMS - Content Management System; Inform's is know as the Digital Media Exchange, or DME; stores and allows for interaction with all available content across our distribution base; user interface where Inform partners may choose and distribute video to their sites.
ComScore - link to homepage; an industry-leading, 3rd party, cross-platform, digital ad and engagement measurement company; ComScore provides independent data, metrics, products, and services to clients in the media, advertising, and marketing industries; comScore delivers digital media analytics that help content owners and advertisers understand the composition of consumer media audiences, and also helps marketers understand the performance and effectiveness of advertising targeted at these audiences; measure what audiences do as they navigate the digital world across multiple technology platforms and devices, including smartphones, tablets, televisions, and desktop computers; audience analytics products include MMX, Video Metrix, qSearch, and OnDemand Essentials. Inform utilizes the Video Metrix platform.
Configuration ID (config ID; "configId") - Its value describes the database ID of a saved product config, which is generated by Control Room (or DME). This config setting deprecates and replaces the "widgetId" config setting. When the "widgetId" config setting is being used, it is immediately assigned to the "configId" config setting.
Configurable Settings – The config settings provided by a product's configurable <div> element, by the default config settings returned by player services, or by Inform Player Suite's code.
Configurable <div> Element – A configurable <div> element refers to one of the two necessary parts of the Inform Player Suite embed code as explained within the Inform Player Suite Implementation Guide.
Content Provider - A partner that provides content for Inform to distribute across the network.
Content Partner ID ("cpid") – The ID of a content publisher partner within Inform's database. This is used interchangeably with "content provider ID". This is not to be confused with: tracking group, or partner ID.
Continuous Play – A series of User Initiated videos play (with potential pre-roll ads) back-to-back for X number of times, where X is the number provided by the "continuousPlay" config setting.
Continuous Play Video Number ("CPV Number") – The number of videos that have played continuously in the current set of videos scheduled for continuous play.
Control Room – The first iteration of Inform’s Online Video Platform. See DME.
CPC - Cost per click; the cost of advertising paced on the number of clicks received.
Cost Per Mille/Thousand (CPM) - A media term describing the cost for 1,000 impressions. For example, a site that charges $1,500 per ad and reports 100,000 visits has a CPM of $15 ($1,500 divided by 100).
CSS (Cascading Style Sheet, CCS3) - A style sheet language used to describe the presentation of a document written in a markup language. CSS provides a more elegant alternative to straight HTML to quickly specify the look and feel of a single web page or a group of multiple web pages.
Device Type ID - A string describing a type of device that can be used to embed Inform Player Suite’s products.
Distribution Partner - Partners that have Inform video tools implemented on their sites; usually an online publisher or digital property owner
Distribution Partner ID (DPID) - The ID of a distribution partner within Inform’s database. See Tracking Group.
DMA - Designated Market Area. A geographic area that represents specific markets as defined by and updated annually by the Nielsen Media Research Company.
Digital Media Exchange (DME) – The current portal for video management. Future versions will have analytics, partner management, and a billing system. The current url is http://dme.inform.com/
Distribution Partner ID ("dpid") – The ID of a distribution partner within Inform's database. IMPORTANT NOTE: In the ad call to DFP, "dpid" is the name of a parameter that does not necessarily pass this value. A new term for the data that is sent using the "dpid" parameter is needed. This is not to be confused with: tracking group, partner ID, or "content partner ID" ("cpid").
DIV (<div> element) - An HTML Element used to define parts of an HTML document so that they are identifiable when no other HTML element is suitable.
DME Analytics - the area of Inform's Digital Media Exchange where partners and individuals with access may login, see their site's performance, and check revenue numbers; analytics is a powerful tool that incorporates site engagement data, real-time page view data, monetization data, and much more into an intuitive dashboard; editorial teams may use the page intelligence tool to identify video opportunities in real time.
DoubleClick for Publishers (DFP) – Google’s proprietary ad network and ad serving technology.
Dynamic Placement - An automated Perfect Pixel embed. Inform’s market-leading technology enables the dynamic placement of engaging videos on your story pages without the constant manual efforts by editors. Our technology reads the story and automatically identifies the most relevant and appropriate videos to place on your page, enabling a significant increase in video pre-roll ad opportunities on your site. The partner retains full editorial control over all dynamic placements. They can remove the player and make changes any time. Publishers first implement Inform’s Perfect Pixel technology to connect their site templates and stories with Inform’s Dynamic Placement technology. Next they determine the stories they’d like to enable Dynamic Placement. See Perfect Pixel.
eCPM - Effective cost per thousand.
Engagement - A measure of the end user’s interaction with video assets on-page. Equal to (Video Views / Page Views) * 100.
Event Date - This is the date the video is set to be active.
Expiration Date - The date a video is no longer available for use/viewing in the DME.
Feed - A feed can be used to indicate many types of transfers of information, but in this case it is used to refer to either RSS or MRSS feeds, both incoming (ingestion) and outgoing (syndication).
FireFox - a Mozilla based web browser
Floating Player ('pinned' player; float behavior) - The ability for a video player to hover over a webpage. The player will float in order to track an end user’s movement or scrolling on a webpage, and will follow the user as he or she descends/ascends the page.
Float Position - The Inform player can be configured to float in one of many static positions on a page. For example, “Bottom Left” or “Top Right”.
Fold Position – The position of a layer or element in relation to the ‘fold’ or page content cutoff.
Frames - Multiple, independent sections used to create a single web page. Each frame is built as a separate HTML file but with one “master” file to control the placement of each section. When a user requests a page with frames, several files will be displayed as panes. Sites using frames report one page request with several panes as multiple page requests. IAB ad campaign measurement guidelines call for the counting of one file per frame set as a page impression.
Frames-Per-Second (Frame-Rate) - Usually 24 fps with inform streaming video.
Freewheel - Inform’s original ad server partner. In legacy embed code this term represents the Tracking Group.
GIF - Graphic Interchange Format. A standard web graphic format that uses compression to store and display images.
Google Analytics - A partner’s internal metric for measuring page views. Google Analytics is a free web analytics service that provides statistics and basic analytical tools for search engine optimization (SEO) and marketing purposes. The service is available to anyone with a Google account.
Heuristic - A way to measure a user’s unique identity. This measure uses deduction or inference based on a rule or algorithm, which is valid for that server.
HTML5 - The latest version of HTML.
IAB - International Advertising Bureau. IAB is a non-profit trade association devoted exclusively to maximizing the use and effectiveness of interactive advertising and marketing.
iFrame - tag specifies an inline frame. An inline frame is used to embed another document within the current HTML document.
Impression: A measurement of responses from a web server to a page request from the user browser, which is filtered from robotic activity and error codes, and is recorded at a point as close as possible to opportunity to see the page by the user.
Inform Player Suite Build – A deployed instance of the Inform Player Suite to a specific build environment, which is automatically assigned a build number.
Inform Viral Network - The viral reach and scope of Inform organic embedding activity outside of the inform Content Management System. Out-of-network player activity.
Insertion Order (IO) - Document utilized by Inform Publisher Development to determine, detail, and agree upon business terms as they relate to the use of Inform products.
JPEG - Joint Photographic Experts Group. Standard web graphic file format that uses a compression technique to reduce graphic file sizes.
Lag - The delay between making an online request or command and receiving a response.
Latency - 1) time it takes for a data packet to move across a network connection; 2) visible delay between request and display of content and ad. Latency sometimes leads to the user leaving the site prior to the opportunity to see. In streaming media, latency can create stream degradation if it causes the packets, which must be received and played in order, to arrive out of order.
Live Streaming - Real time broadcasting of an event via a streaming player. Also see Verizon Live Streaming Solution.
LKQD - link to homepage; a video ad platform that "provides universal mediation to Publishers"
Media Company - A company that derives revenue from publishing content via one or more means of distribution.
Mouseover - The process by which a user places his/her mouse over a media object, without clicking. The mouse may need to remain still for a specified amount of time to initiate some actions
MPEG - 1) The file format that is used to compress and transmit movies or video clips online. 2) Standards set by the Motion Picture Exports Group for video media.
MRSS Feed - Multimedia Rich Site Summary; a type of feed for the ingestiona dn syndication of media assets to third party properties, via a uniform and standardized method.
MSA - Master Services Agreement.
On-Demand - The ability to request video, audio, or information to be sent to the screen immediately by clicking something on the screen referring to that choice.
On-Site Measurement - When a server has an appropriate software program to measure and analyze traffic received on its own site.
OTS - Opportunity to See. Same as page display - when a page is successfully displayed on the user's computer screen.
O&O - Owned and Operated.
OLN - Online Video.
Omniture - A third party analytics and digital video metric service; measure engagement across many different metrics; acquired by Adobe Analytics and now falls under that platform.
Onboarding - The process of bringing on new partners, and making sure that these partners have access to all Inform services and content.
OVN - Online Video Network formerly managed by the Associated Press, now managed by Inform.
Ownership Group - This refers to organizations that own one or more Inform Partner organizations. Each Ownership Group can consist of multiple Vendor Codes and Tracking Groups or can share a single Vendor Code and Tracking Group across all of their child organizations. See Vendor Code and Tracking Group.
Page Intelligence Tool - An Analytics view within the DME; includes up-to-the-minute information on trending and viral pages/stories; allows inform partners to view video opportunities and react appropriately.
Page View - An instance of when a browser loads a page that has a <script> tag pointed to the Inform Player Suite. For example, if a page has Inform Player Suite's needed script tag but also a product embedded using iframe embed code, which loads another page inside the iframe that has a <script> tag pointed to the Inform Player Suite, two page views will have occurred (and consequently be recorded via analytics) when said page is visited. If a page has Inform Player Suite's needed script tag included multiple times on the same page (without any iframe embeds), only one page view will be recorded using analytics. The concept behind "page view" is sometimes confused with the concept of "widget load" because Inform Player Suite's products used to always be contained within an iframe, but now it is rare for our products to be contained within an iframe. This is not to be confused with: widget load. See iFrame.
Page Weight - measures the total amount of resources on and loaded by your site; includes all elements, scripts, style considerations and CSS; page weight is a primary consideration for most User Experience professionals; should be considered in concert with User Experience, Interface Design, and Site Structure; media assets , like still and moving image, are considered alongside other elements on the page.
Partner ID – The ID of a partner within Inform's database. This is not to be confused with: tracking group, "distribution partner ID" ("dpid"), or "content partner ID" ("cpid").
"pb" Value – Alias for product behavior ID.
Perfect Pixel – A backend tool that allows distributor partners to manually place videos on their site's pages when said pages have the configurable <div> elements with their appropriate "distributorId" config setting. This uses a sidebar that is loaded in via a bookmarklet which allows the partner to search and/or place any possible video within the configurable elements.
PHP - (recursive acronym for PHP: Hypertext Preprocessor) is a widely-used open source general-purpose scripting language that is especially suited for web development and can be embedded into HTML.
Player Analytics – Internal analytics regarding the actions and experience of embedded Inform Player Suite products. Granular details concerning these analytics and their respective endpoints are available on our wiki.
Player Build – See Inform Player Suite build.
Player Instance Type ID – The ID describing the product used to implement a video or ad product. This is not to be confused with: the "type" config setting, the "plt" value, or "player type".
Player Services – This is the backend service that the Inform Player Suite uses to communicate with Inform's database. The Inform Player Suite makes a JSONP call to player services with a number of parameters and in return receives a response with the default config settings to use (if certain config settings were not explicitly provided in a product's embed code), playlist data, and other miscellaneous settings pertaining to an embedded product.
Player Type – Deprecated. Alias for "plt" value. This is not to be confused with: the "type" config setting. "plt" Value – The "plt" value (sometimes referred to as the "player type") is an integer that describes certain scenarios for an embedded product's finalized config settings.
Product Behavior ID – The ID describing the behavior of an Inform Player Suite product.
Product Config – An Inform database record that describes default config settings and product settings, which is applied to an embedded product when its "widgetId" config setting specifies this database record's ID.
Product Settings – Settings that affect an embedded product's behavior that are not configurable via a product's config settings. The Inform Player Suite receive these product settings through its first call to player services.
Publisher Provided ID – The Publisher Provided Identifier (PPID) allows publishers to send DoubleClick for Publishers an identifier for use in frequency capping, audience segmentation and targeting, sequential ad rotation and other audience-based ad delivery controls across devices. PPID is not currently supported in DFP's reach reporting or conversion tracking.
QA - Quality Assurance
Query - A request for information, usually to a search engine.
Real-Time - Events that happen “live” at a particular moment.
Recommender System - A part of the Perfect Pixel Service in which Inform employs different algorithms for recommendation and matching technologies. - It recommends, it does not dynamically place videos.
Re-Direct - when used in reference to online advertising, one server assigning an ad-serving or ad-targeting function to another server, often operated by a third company. For instance, a Web publisher's ad management server might re-direct to a third-party hired by an advertiser to distribute its ads to target customers; and then another redirect to a "rich media" provider might also occur if streaming video were involved before the ad is finally delivered to the consumer. In some cases, the process of redirects can produce latency. See ad serving, latency.
Revenue Share - Revenue percentage shared with Content Providers and Distribution Partners. This is a percentage of total revenue. (25/25 means 25% distribution, 25% content.)
RFI - Request For Information.
RFP - Request For Proposal.
Right Rail - Right side of a web page, usually made up of 300x250 slots.
RMM - Rich Media Monetization. A 15-30 second sound off pre-roll ad running in an Inform 300x250 launcher or player when the page loads. This term is unique to Inform.
RSS - Rich Site Summary, or Really Simple Syndication, is a process for publishing content on the Internet that facilitates moving that content into other environments. For example, top news stories on a newspaper website can be published as an RSS “feed” and pulled into and delivered via a Web portal site. RSS Readers are software programs or websites that enable users to subscribe to one or more RSS feeds, delivering content and information from multiple sources into a single user interface and environment.
Safari - Apple Inc.'s proprietary web browser
Scripts - Files that initiate routines like generating Web pages dynamically in response to user input.
Sell-Through-Rate - The percentage of ad inventory sold as opposed to traded or bartered.
Session - 1) A sequence of Internet activity made by one user at one site. If a user makes no request from a site during a 30-minute period of time, the next content or ad request would then constitute the beginning of a new visit. 2) A series of transactions performed by a user that can be tracked across successive Web sites. For example, in a single session, a user may start on a publisher's Web site, click on an advertisement and then go to an advertiser's Web site and make a purchase.
Site Section – A formatted string describing a distribution partner's taxonomy concerning where an embedded product is placed. This value can be specified directly within a product's embed code using the "siteSection" config setting.
SpotEx - a real-time ad exchange.
Streaming Media - is multimedia that is constantly received by and presented to an end-user while being delivered by a provider. The verb "to stream" refers to the process of delivering or obtaining media in this manner; the term refers to the delivery method of the medium, rather than the medium itself, and is an alternative to file downloading, a process in which the end-user obtains the entire file for the content before watching or listening to it.
Still Frame - AKA Video Thumbnail. The image shown prior to a video playing, for videos that do not autoplay.
Stratblock - Ad keyword that prevents strategic ad campaigns from running with a particular piece of content. Can be seen in the response from player services on player load.
Streaming - 1) technology that permits continuous audio and video delivered to a computer from a remote Web site; 2) an Internet data transfer technique that allows the user to see and hear audio and video files. The host or source compresses, then "streams" small packets of information over the Internet to the user, who can access the content as it is received.
Tracking Group - A 5-digit tracking group ID used to identify partners within the NDN network (also known as CPID, DPID, ANID, Freewheel, and in certain instances Partner ID–but it is NOT synonymous with Partner ID). Going forward this 5-digit number should only be referred to as Tracking Group.
Unique User - unique individual or browser which has either accessed a site (see unique visitor) or which has been served unique content and/or ads such as e-mail, newsletters, interstitials and pop-under ads. Unique users can be identified by user registration or cookies. Reported unique users should filter out bots.
User - An individual with access to the World Wide Web.
VPAID - The Video Player-Ad Interface Definition, a universal specification developed by the IAB for interaction between ad units and video players focused on “enabling a rich interactive in-stream ad experience”
VAST - Video Ad-Serving Template - another IAB specification, provides a common ad response format for video players that enables video ads to be served across all compliant video players. However, VAST alone does not provide support for rich interactivity.
Video Completion Rate (VCR) - the ratio of video starts to video completions; a measure of content engagement.
Video Asset ID – An ID describing the video playing or about to be played within a video player.
Video ID - This is a unique number that is assigned to each video that has been uploaded to the inform network
Viewability - a link to Google's definition; industry standard requires at least 50% of the pixels of a digital ad to be viewable for at least one second; viewability metrics can change subject to the party measuring; delineates the minimums required to consider an ad impression to be seen and monetized; usually a score given to the unit or placement
VMAP - Video Multiple Ad Playlist; is an XML template that video content owners can use to describe the structure for ad inventory insertion when they don’t control the video player or the content distribution outlet.
View-Through Rate (VTR) - measures the number of post-impression response or 'viewthrough' from display media impressions viewed during and following an online advertising campaign.
Widget (Widget ID, or "wgt" or “wid” Value) – The "wgt" value is an integer that describes certain scenarios for an embedded product's finalized config settings in combination with whether the embedded product's video player is currently playing an RMM. This value is passed as a "cust_params" parameter in the ad call to DFP. This is not to be confused with: wid, or widget ID. The "widgetId" config setting, which has been replaced and deprecated by the "configId" config setting. See config ID. This is not to be confused with: "wgt" value.
Widget Load (Event) – When the "widgetEmbedStart" event occurs within a product embedded using the Inform Player Suite. This is not to be confused with: page view.
(AP) Wire Match - link to product page; Inform Wire Match dynamically places AP videos recommended by Associated Press editors within their corresponding text story, next to related stories, creating a rich multi-format experience for your online audience.
Yield - The percentage of clicks vs. impressions on an ad within a specific page. Also known as ad click rate.